List of Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award Winners.

Winning the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award is one of the most prestigious honours for an NFL player, and it is given to the player with the most beneficial community impact.

The winner is announced at the NFL Honours event prior to the Super Bowl, and they are presented with a trophy and a badge for the remainder of their playing career.

The National Football League (NFL) notes that the prize "recognises an NFL player for his excellence on and off the field" as well as "[represents] the best of the NFL's commitment to philanthropy and community impact."

Every year, each NFL team nominates one of their players for the award, and one of the 32 nominees receives the NFL's most prestigious honour.

Since its introduction in 1970, the prize has been voted on, with the winner nominating £250,000 to charity and each candidate receiving a $55,000 donation in 2024.

Technically, the first recipient of the award was Baltimore Colts quarterback Johnny Unitas in 1970. 

 However, the NFL had an award called the Gladiator Award in 1969, which was the precursor to the Man of the Year Award and was won by Green Bay Packers quarterback Bart Starr.

The Gladiator is also the trophy presented to each champion.

The 8 Best Juices for Weight Loss

more stories :